Seven Free Additions To Path Of Exile

3. march 2018 at 9:37 | pathofexile |  Guides
Path of Exile is a very surprising game even from the start; you wake on a lonely island, and from the first moment onwards, you have to fight the undead.

Path of Exile is a Free To Play Dark Fantasy Action RPG by the New Zealand-based studio Grinding Gear Games, where you play as the eponymous Exile: one of many convicts (rightly or wrongly) exiled to the remote continent of Wraeclast by the authorities of the outside world. After your ship crashes near the shores of Wraeclast, you are hard-pressed to merely survive in this Crapsack World, let alone prosper.

The gameplay and the control scheme is obviously inspired by Diablo II: you control a single character from overhead perspective and engage in massive monster slaughter, occasionally dropping by the newest town to sell loot and pick up/turn in quests. The main difference is the skill system, wherein passive skills form a veritable skill forest based around three core attributes, while the active skills/spells are stored in upgradable magical gems that can be socketed in virtually every piece of equipment (not unlike Materia in Final Fantasy VII).

The game officially launched on October 23, 2013, after extensive closed and later open beta testing. You can download the game client and play for free after registering on the official website (the same account is used to log into the game). Although the initial closed-beta crowd-funding campaign is over (having collected over $2.2 million in pledges), you can still support the game by purchasing cosmetic and convenience "upgrades" from the in-game shop. That said, GGG strongly oppose Freemium, so they are not going to hand out any exclusive gameplay advantages or content to "paying customers" any time soon.

Following the release of the game, GGG have created frequent updates for cosmetics, performance, and gameplay. Major changes are bundled in Expansion Packs which are a free addition to the game, though you can choose to buy "supporter packs" for exclusive cosmetics.

Sacrifice of the Vaal (released March 5, 2014) explored the history of the first civilization on Wraeclast, including special Vaal dungeons that pop up randomly throughout the game levels which provides the player specialized loot related to the Vaal, and access to their former Queen as a Bonus Boss. This expansion also introduced PvP modes and seasonal Challenge Leagues, temporary game realms allowing players to start characters within a fresh economy alongside new gameplay content.

Forsaken Masters (released August 22, 2014) introduced the titular Forsaken Masters, seven NPCs who were also exiled to Wraeclast but have carved a place for themselves with their unique skills. The Masters offer quests as players travel through the world, and grant access to in-game housing and crafting options.

The Awakening (released July 10, 2015) extended the main story with a long-awaited Act 4, where exiles travelled to the heart of Wraeclast to stop an impending cataclysm of Nightmare.

Ascendancy (released March 4th, 2016) introduced the Ascendencies for all classes, allowing them to further specialize their abilities. In order to unlock these Ascendencies players must traverse the Lord's Labyrinth, a lengthy dungeon filled with environmental traps that must be cleared without dying.

Atlas of Worlds (released September 2, 2016) largely improved on the end-game map experience and introduced the titular Atlas of Worlds, which structured progression though the map content and gave it a backstory involving its mysterious creator, the Shaper.

The Fall of Oriath (released August 5, 2017) introduces a massive storyline extension with Act Five situated in the exiles' homeland of Oriath, and Acts 6-10 which revisits the areas of the previous five acts. The Exiles return to Oriath to liberate it from the tyrannical rule of High Templar Avarius, but things take a dark, unexpected turn when the dark god Kitava, freshly reawakened by the death of the Beast, hatches a sinister scheme to consume the souls of all mortal life. Meanwhile, the original gods of Wraeclast are awoken by the death of the Beast and plot to take their vengeance on the mortals who had forgotten them. This streamlines the experience and level progression into a single play-through, incorporating the Cruel and Merciless difficulty levels in the process (Cruel begins after Act 5, Merciless after Act 10). In addition, a new Pantheon system is available that confers swappable passive bonuses for hunting down Wraeclast's enemies and gods.

War for the Atlas (releasing December 8, 2017) adds more content to the Atlas. A new entity called The Elder fights for control over the Shaper's realm, infecting the Atlas with his influence. The player can influence the Shaper's or the Elder's control by clearing a path for them around the Atlas. The expansion adds new maps, bosses, and powerful Shaper and Elder item mods. as one of the most professional online store which glad to share more Path of Exile News and cheap PoE items for sale with instant delivery.

Be the first one to judge this article.

New comment

Log in
  Don't you have your own web yet? Create it for free on

Actual articles